In the News

15 Years’ Worth of Warmth and Caring: Angels in the Night to Visit Homeless Shelters Across Canada

12.12.2017

Hundreds of volunteers will distribute much needed items to homeless shelters

TORONTO, December 12, 2017 -Tonight marks the 15th anniversary of angels spreading their wings across the country. Hundreds of volunteers from Invis-Mortgage Intelligence, one of Canada's leading mortgage brokerage firms, will take to city streets across Canada to donate new winter clothing and supplies to those in need as part of its award-winning community program, Angels in the Night.

Angels in the Night is an annual event that results after a year's worth of community fundraising efforts. Volunteers reach out to homeless shelters in their communities to identify the items most in demand. Those items are then purchased and personally delivered to the shelters on one night in December. Since 2002, Angels in the Night volunteers and industry partners have raised almost $4 million in cash and in-kind donations.

This year, Invis-Mortgage Intelligence plans to distribute over 100,000 items, which will include coats, snow pants, rain ponchos, boots, hats, gloves, sweatshirts, pants, t-shirts, socks, underwear, pajamas, blankets/bedding and backpacks. Personal toiletries are often the most requested items and tonight's delivery will include lots of towels, razors/shaving cream, shampoo, toothbrushes/toothpastes, soap and deodorant. Some of the deliveries will include diapers, toys and children's clothing, and items for teens.

"As a company, we're proud and inspired by a grass-roots local project that has evolved into a coast-to-coast initiative of caring and community engagement," says Cameron Strong, CEO, Invis-Mortgage Intelligence. "Helping those who don't have a place to call their own resonates strongly with our brokers, employees and business partners who are passionate about this cause and work tirelessly to make it a success each year." To mark the milestone year, Cam joins brokers, employees and business partners in Vancouver to visit homeless shelters in the city that Angels in the Night originated.

What: Angels in the Night volunteers load items onto trucks and buses (varies per city) and then will deliver those items to shelters throughout the evening hours.

Start times and locations - Tuesday December 12

Vancouver
Meet location: Army and Navy Department Store, 36 W Cordova St. (Loading Dock)
Start time: 6:00 p.m. / 6:30 Bridge Women Shelter / 7:00 Harbour Light Men Shelter / 7:30 Covenant House Youth Shelter
Contact: Rob Hafer [E: rob.hafer@invismi.ca / T: 250.881.3900] or Tony Kreutzer [E: tony.kreutzer@invismi.ca / T: 250.718.4687]

Calgary
Meet Location: Army and Navy Department Store, 1107 - 33rd Street NE, Parking Lot
Start time: 6:10 p.m. / 6:45 Calgary Drop In Centre / 7:45 Salvation Army - Centre of Hope
Contact: Sue Black-Garland [E: sueblackgarland@invis.ca / T: 403.508.7800 x101] or Heather Cermak [E: heather.cermak@invismi.ca / T: 403.271.1489]

Edmonton
Meet location: #105, 14020 128 Avenue, Edmonton
Start time: 5:30 p.m. / Youth Empowerment and Support Services / Win House Shelter
Contact: Ron Manson [E: ronmanson@invis.ca / T: 780.446.0340]

Winnipeg
Meet location: Invis office 2310 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg
Start time: 4:30 p.m. / 5:30 Willow Place / 6:00 Salvation Army
Contact: Rosa Bovino [E: rosabovino@invis.ca / T: 204.781.4350]

Windsor
Meet location: Storage Mart - 1577 Lauzon Road, Windsor, ON (around the back) Bldg #7
Start time: 4:30 p.m. / 5:30 Street Help / 6:00 Windsor Residence for Young Men / 6:30 Our Lady of Guadalupe
Contact: Michael Celuch [E: michael.celuch@migroup.ca / T: 519.988.1070] or Deenie Stuebing [E: deenie.stuebing@migroup.ca / T: 519.250.4966]

Kitchener-Waterloo
Meet location: McWilliams Moving, 215 Frobisher Dr., Unit 2, Waterloo
Start time: 6:00 p.m. / 6:30 Lutherwood Safe Haven / YWCA Emergency Shelter / One ROOF / House of Friendship / Ray of Hope
Contact: Lori Pollice [E: loripollice@invis.ca / T: 519.589.5437]

Toronto
Meet location: 6:45 Native Men's Shelter 26 Vaughan Road, Toronto
Start time: 6:45 pm / 7:45 St Mary's Home Emergency Shelter /8:15 Fred Victor's Women Hostel / 8:45 Street Haven at the Crossroads Women's Shelter
Contact: John Filice [E: johnfilice@invis.ca / T: 416.417.3126]

Barrie
Meet location: 77 Mary Street, Barrie
Start time: 5:00 pm
Contact: Della Dwyer [E: delladwyer@invis.ca / T: 705.792.1527 x111]

Oshawa
Meet location: 57 Kenneth Ave #1, Oshawa
Start time: 10:45 am / 11:30 The Refuge / 12:00 YWCA Durham
Contact: David Hetti [E: david.hetti@migroup.ca] or Dharshi Hettiarachchi [E: dharshini.hettiarachchi@migroup.ca / T: 905.404.8001]

Mississauga
A direct delivery to Peel Youth Village.
To make a donation contact: Margaret Green [E: marg@marggreen.ca / T: 416.938.6052]

London - this delivery will take place Tuesday December 19
Meet location: Cherryhill Village Mall, 310 Oxford St., London
Start time: 5:00 p.m.
Contact: Carmen Alpaerts [E: mortgageladycarm@primus.ca / T: 519.871.4954]

About Angels in the Night

Angels in the Night is a volunteer community event that aims to raise money through mortgage brokers, financial institutions, industry partners and other service providers to purchase items specifically requested by homeless shelters and related charitable organizations.

www.angelsinthenight.ca
www.facebook.com/InvisM

« Back